Principles for sale–cheap!

Sorry for the hiatus without warning. It started with some family stuff that kept me too busy, and then, once out of the habit of daily blogging, it often takes me awhile to get back into it.

So . . . the NRA has endorsed McCain/Palin. I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised, but when we had gotten to within a month of the election without such an endorsement being announced, I had begun to hold out hope that maybe this time, principles would trump expediency. Foolish of me.

Look–I’m not denying that Obama has proven himself to be a committed enemy of private gun ownership–he clearly has, at nearly every opportunity. I’ll also acknowledge that “committed enemy of private gun ownership” doesn’t really characterize McCain–he’ll only toss us under the bus if he sees a real benefit for him in doing so. Finally, I acknowledge that Governor Palin truly does give me the impression that she is committed to protecting the right of Americans to arm themselves for the defense of themselves and their liberty.

Sorry, but that’s not enough to justify endorsing a man who voted to extend the ban on so-called “assault weapons,” and who still supports closing the mythical “gun show loophole.” Oh–need I mention McCain-Feingold?

With this endorsement, the NRA has sent the message (in case anyone missed it before) that all one has to do to receive the NRA’s blessing is to be somewhat less hostile to gun ownership than the opposition is. That means, of course, that the more rabidly in favor of forcible citizen disarmament one candidate is, the more hostile to gun rights the other candidate can afford to be, and still get the NRA’s endorsement.

That’s a perfect strategy . . . if the intention is to render gun rights irrelevant as a political issue.

We’re being told that we need to forget about all that, and realize that an Obama presidency would be such a catastrophe for gun rights as to trump all the above objections to endorsing McCain.

My answer to that is that Obama is not getting my guns while I live–and McCain isn’t getting my principles–at any price.

2 Responses to “Principles for sale–cheap!”

  1. Lucy Says:

    You sound like you are where I am…stuck between a rock and a hard place. How did we get to this place? Two candidates…and they both suck! I don’t know what I will do when I enter that booth…do you?

  2. 45superman Says:

    I don’t know what I will do when I enter that booth…do you?

    I was afraid someone would ask that ;).

    I consider myself a (small “l”) libertarian, and I have voted Libertarian Party in the past, but my issues with Barr pretty much rule that out. I’ve taken a look at the Constitutional Party, but I’m not sold on Baldwin yet. I’ll have to look into him a bit more.

    I know Ron Paul doesn’t want folks writing his name in, but you know what–lots of folks aren’t getting what they want this election (myself definitely included).

    Then again, I may just leave the presidential field blank on my ballot.

Leave a Reply

