Doing my part for the Obama economic stimulus plan

There’s been a lot of discussion lately about a recent impressive spike in firearms sales, driven by concerns about an impending Obama presidency (and growing Democratic majorities in both houses of Congress) ushering in a spate of draconian gun laws. Even with a tanking economy reducing disposable income (which, incidentally, is in turn driving declines in sales of traditional hunting rifles and shotguns), surging sales of handguns and so-called “assault weapons” are more than taking up the slack.

In a way, one could say that Obama–even before the election–has helped at least one segment of the economy.

I’ve made no secret of the fact that I am not at all eager for the kind of “change” Obama promises. Still, we’re all in this together, and if he is doing something to help the economy, I feel somewhat obligated to hold up my end.

Not being exactly made out of money, rather than getting an entire new “assault weapon,” I decided to add some additional capability to one I already have. The order for an additional upper receiver (chambered in 6.5mm Grendel) has been placed, and soon I will have a Beowulf/Grendel (who says I have no appreciation for classic literature?) switch-top AR pistol.

When finances allow, I’ll be adding optics (of type to be determined–suggestions welcome), and maybe a bipod.

I guess we could call this the long range plan.

3 Responses to “Doing my part for the Obama economic stimulus plan”

  1. Lucy Says:

    I too have recently contributed to the economy in light of the coming events…ammo. Can you ever have too much? Stocked up on .22s, .38s and 9mm. Just doing my part!

  2. 45superman Says:

    Yeah–I have more ammo on order, and more still needs to be my next priority.

  3. Jim Says:

    hmmm… I can buy that… dropped money on a ton of magazines for my AR-15’s and my 9mm Glocks!

    –Jim

Leave a Reply

