This could have been the GOP’s response to Obama

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving weekend.

I see that “Iron” Mike Ditka wants to disarm the entire NFL.

“This is all about priorities. When you get stature in life, you get the kind of contract, you have an obligation and responsibility to your teammates, to the organization, to the National Football League and to the fans. He just flaunted this money in their face. He has no respect for anybody but himself. I feel sorry for him, in the sense that, I don’t understand the league, why can anybody have a gun? I will have a policy, no guns, any NFL players we find out, period, you’re suspended.”

This, of course, was in response to New York Giants receiver Plaxico Burress negligently shooting himself in the thigh in a Manhattan nightclub. Seems a bit drastic as a reaction to one knucklehead doing what knuckleheads do.

As for the Sean Taylors and Darrent Williamses
produced by such an edict, I suppose that’s just their tough luck.

My point isn’t that this could happen to the NFL–those guys can find a way to take care of themselves. My point is that Ditka–the guy whose “solution” to an ignoramus negligently shooting himself is to treat everyone as an ignoramus–was once pursued by the Illinois GOP to run against Obama for the U.S. Senate in 2004. Iron Mike declined, after some consideration.

I don’t think he would have won, and I’m certainly not arguing that he would not only win, but go on to win the presidency four years later–my point is more about the state of the GOP in Illinois.

Even someone courted by the party as the next tough guy hero ends up being a nanny-stater.

Leave a Reply

