The Nuge for (NRA) prez?

Now this would be . . . interesting:

Barack Obama jumped over a bunch of longer-experienced presidential candidates to win the White House, so will that pattern take at the National Rifle Association? It might, considering rocker and hunter Ted Nugent’s popularity among NRA members. We hear that the Nuge is being urged to get into the race, and a key NRA insider tells us: “He does have a grass-roots following.”

Personally, I’m torn. On the one hand, I find his personality intensely annoying, and his seeming inability to refer to the other side without the use of obscenities strikes me as rather puerile (I’ve also never been a fan of his music, but I suppose that’s beside the point).

On the other hand, I have seen him argue articulately and well for gun rights, so I know he can do it, when it suits him to go to the trouble. I would never accuse him of blandness, and I have little doubt of his ability to grab attention–the reactions he would provoke from the other side would certainly provide some entertainment. Finally, he definitely doesn’t strike me as the . . . pragmatic choice, a point I would have to score in his favor.

Leave a Reply

